Tags

, , , ,

A Reaction to: “On Dating Nice Catholic Girls

“Help! Help! I’m being repressed!” by Julie at The Corner with a View
On Dating Nice Catholic Girls” by Trista at Not a Minx, a Moron, or a Parasite
“On Reading Confused Catholic Writers” by Elizabeth at Startling the Day
The “Bright Maidens” were originally three from the oft-mentioned, widely-speculated upon demographic of young, twenty-something Catholic women. Now, we all take up the cross to dispel the myths and misconceptions. Welcome!


Beware, fair reader, if you’re willing to read all three Bright Maiden posts today, the verse ending in “a woman scorned” will cross your mind. A great upside to Max Lindenman’s article, “On Dating Nice Catholic Girls,” is that he generated discussion.

I saw my friends get upset about the article on Twitter, I vented about it with my family, and here we are writing about it as a conglomerate.

My venting about this article was preceded by a vague support of it. The first time I started reading Lindenman’s work, I thought, “Sexy Puritan? It’s a little insulting, but he’s a Catholic man on a Catholic site. Hopefully he’ll turn this around.” I trusted that he would and waited.

And waited.

At the conclusion of the article, I slumped in confusion. What on Earth was he trying to say?

He jumped several times, going off track, and back on. If he was a train, we’d hear about it on the news, read about it in the grocery aisle, and hold candlelight vigils across the country.

“In other words, the Sexy Puritan is a god-fearing, godawful tease. Come the revolution, I assure you, Sexy Puritans will be hunted from helicopters.”

He could be playing devil’s advocate. He might be showing what the rest of the world thinks of nice, attractive Catholic girls. I’ll keep reading, I tell myself.

(I don’t own the rights)

However, my efforts were in vain. He continued to write about an ex-girlfriend who was attractive and cuddly, but would not go as physically far as he wanted to go (stand up guy that he is, he even talked about his light pressure on her to comply).

Her morals were strong, but her cuddly nature and attractive physique made her a tease.

It would be childish of me to ask Mr. Lindenman, “So nice, Catholic girls should be unattractive and allergic to physical contact? Or, they should be attractive and cuddly, but “follow through” in order to avoid being a tease?”

When he insulted the JPII generation, the gloves were off.

“One thing, though: a lot of these JPII generation girls are starting to look suspiciously like Sexy Puritans.”

What an insult to the work that JPII did for my generation! Theology of the Body has changed my life and many others. JPII is responsible for re-energizing a population that was starting to fall victim to apathy, our sexual culture, and anti-Catholicism.

These women who are both attractive (without having to be “Trad,” or someone who looks like they’re constantly judging those who show their ankles) and faithful to the Magisterium should be praised.

And you, sir, shouldn’t be bitter about “teases.”

They’re doing their part by holding you to a higher standard. Reach for it.

Here’s my suggestion to you, Mr. Lindenman: apply some of the Catholic teaching to your perception of women instead of blaming the JPII generation.

