Tags

, , , , ,

>

Click here to read the original post at ConversionDiary.com
 
*1*

I wrote most of these quick takes before I learned that my Gramma had taken at turn for the worst. I don’t blame God for wanting her to join Him, she’s an awesome, holy woman. Please keep my family in your prayers.


*2*

We know about the Holocaust, we know about the genocides in Rwanda and the Sudan… but we don’t always put them on par with abortion. Hop over to Liesl’s blog, Spiritual Workout, and read her article about the Holocaust of the 20th and 21st centuries.

*3*

(I don’t own the rights)

I will soon write about the second biggest conversion of my life: the movement toward country music.

I know many readers just lost respect for me. For good measure, let’s separate the sheep from the goats: I love NSYNC, too. I would go to a Justin Timberlake concert tomorrow. I’m also starting to dislike Taylor Swift.

Still there? To my delight, I just learned that DARIUS RUCKER is coming to Richmond in July. I will be there, Mr. Rucker, worry not.

*4*

After one tweet I tweeted last week, I now have three Magic Hat brand Twitter accounts following me… how do I feel about that? Stupendous! Beer is delicious!

Homebrewing sounds like a lot of fun. I’m not a great cook, but I can make beer, right? My sister found a store that has homebrew supplies and I may just have to start a new hobby… #mmmbeer.

*5*

Jason Evert came to Richmond last Saturday and dropped some knowledge on our fair city. When I arrived at his first speaking engagement, I was the first one. A little eager, I’d say.

I saw him in the distance and it was like I was looking at a celebrity. This man and his wife have had a profound impact on me in the last year, I’m very grateful to them. That is what I was thinking when I introduced myself with shaking hands and a clenched vocal chord…

Buy the book here!

He was very kind and funny! I gave him a copy of my review of How to Find Your Soulmate Without Losing Your Soul and enjoyed THE HECK out of his talk!

There were a lot more boys there than I expected, especially considering the talk was the same time as the VCU vs. Butler game (Go Rams). I know Mr. Evert planted lots of thoughts in the teens’ minds because he still plants them in mine!

If you haven’t already, be sure to stop by the Everts’ website, Chastity.com. You can watch videos, listen to talks, and read questions and answers.

*6*

In 1615, when Galileo Galilei sat before the Church’s powers that be, he sung a little-known verse:

The Catholic Knight (Google found him for me) wrote an explanation of the Church’s sentencing of Galileo.

*7*

Thank you for participating in the discussion this week! To clarify, we intended to pick one, pressing issue, not point out every issue in the Church. I happen to think the one I picked spawns a lot of the other issues, but of course I’d say that… it’s my blog.

Does it feel like I talk about sex a lot? That’s possible… I teach a Theology of the Body class.

I’m going to talk about it again on Tuesday for our #BrightMaidens topic, “Sex before marriage.” I’m going to try to spice it up for y’all, since you already know where I stand on it (hint: no, thank you).

