Tags

, , ,

>Fair people, I need your input, if you please.

JUDGEMENT…muhahahah!

The New American Bible (Catholic) reads, “Stop judging, that you may not be judged. For as you judge, so will you be judged, and the measure with which you measure will be measured out to you,” (Matthew 7:1-2).

(I don’t own the rights)

I take issue with how this verse is wielded like a weapon.

Some throw up their hands and say “Judge lest ye not be judged,” often, in a way that judges his or her accuser. “You’re judging me and therefore you are breaking a big rule. Nanny, nanny, boo boo.”

My question: are judgement and judging a person are two different things?

When someone berates my faith or person, am I not judging when I refute their arguments? Don’t I have to judge in order to construct my response?

In my obviously-not-so-humble opinion, I think the “judgement” referred to in Matthew 7 is really the kind of judgment that assumes one knows the extent of God’s mercy.

When one judges someone’s ultimate place, heaven or hell (I’d say purgatory, but I don’t want anyone to launch into a conniption), as if they know where we end up based on whatever philosophy they believe, I think they step into God’s shoes, breaking the law.

YOUR TURN! Tell me what you think about the concept and word, “judgement.”
