Tags

, , , , , , ,

Click here to read the original post at ConversionDiary.com
*1*

You have something to look forward to.

Not only will you get the annual meditations and beautiful traditions and scriptures of Lent, but you will also see a new series with Julie and Trista.  

What does it mean to be a woman in the Church?

Keep an eye out on Fat Tuesday. 

*2*

Many of you are joining me from Conversion Diary (Hello to those who are new!), so it’s likely you’re Catholic, blogging, and ready to mingle in this cyber-Community we are developing!

The Venerable John Paul II pointed out the need for the New Evangelism and social media is a spectacular, effective, and cheap way to be a part of this movement. A new resource has popped up to help you make the most of the new media and your Catholic (or non-Catholic Christian) faith. Drum roll please

(I don’t own the rights)
Give it a look-see.
*3*
If you noticed… good job!

If not, let me point your attention to… exactly where you’re looking. I changed the design of my blog because, apparently, a dark background is a turn-off for blog readers. I think it’s cool, but I’m bending to the will of the people. I’d love some feedback!

I also bought and redirected this to my own domain. Soon I will have a less “Blogger” layout… if only I could physically paint or draw these designs. I’m not very handy with the digital art.

*4*
You may find this hard to believe (you shouldn’t), but I only miss the dorky stuff about college:
(I don’t own the rights)

*I have yet to meet another person who enjoys finals week (um, excuse me. At what other point in your life will you have ONE purpose: surviving while studying? College kids complain, but their lives are easy).

*Academic writing. I had the formula down pat and I liked trying to create a new thesis statement.
*The enclosing feeling of standing between two library shelves, the books on which haven’t budged in 5 years.

However, I do miss looking forward to spring break.

*5*

My skin smells like chlorine and it might as well be crack-cocaine.

After a 3 month hiatus from the pool, I swam this week. It wasn’t a long swim, but it was beautiful and helped me clear my head. As I’ve mentioned before, my natural state is in the water. I need to avoid forgetting that again.

When I got home, I went through my old photos of when I swam in the Beijing Olympics. I hope you enjoy them:

Overlooking my turf.
Getting mentally prepared.
You have to relax sometimes when you’re kicking butt.
Ahh what a satisfying world championship.
*6*
You may have seen this post about my weekend with teens preparing for Confirmation. I’m curious about what YOU were thinking on the retreat prior to your own Confirmation. If you went on a Confirmation retreat, tell me about your experience!
*7*

This little boy was born in LA, adopted by Filipinos, and grew up in the Philippines.

It goes to show you that color ain’t no thang.

