Tags

, , , , ,

>

Click here to read the original post at ConversionDiary.com



*1*

Thank you all for bearing with me on the whiny and woe is me posts. I beg of you to pray for my family again, especially for my grandfather. He is not in good shape, so if you could pray for his peace with the Holy Trinity, I would appreciate it.



*2*

From Flickr, Stlyouth

I listened to Patrick Madrid‘s Open Line radio show this week! One caller asked why we ask non-Catholics not to receive the Eucharist at Catholic Mass.


I have always wondered; I know Protestants see the consecrated host as a symbol, even though they’re standing in a room full of Catholics who know it to have gone through transubstantiation. If they’re going to think it’s a symbol anyway, then they’ve missed the point to begin with. Mr. Madrid, as he has on so many occasions before, answered my question: 1 Corinthians 11:23-34.

“Therefore whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord unworthily will have to answer for the body and blood of the Lord. A person should examine himself, and so eat the bread and drink the cup. For anyone who eats and drinks without discerning the body, eats and drinks judgment on himself.” -1 Corinthians 27-19


*3*

This is cheating, but I’m tagging back to an earlier post I had this week about boys and girls. It goes out to teenage and college aged students, especially.

*4*

My work had its office “Holiday Open House” this week, which was a lot of fun! I haven’t gotten to see my co-workers in months (virtual office), so it was wonderful to see them again! It reminded me how fortunate I am work with such good, fun, honest people. I have the best boss in the world and a super support system of co-workers.


Prayers go out to one co-worker who is moving on to do mission work! See, I told you I work with good people.

*5*

Visit Billy Atwell’s site for an interesting look at conspiracy theories about the Catholic Church and his hope for a new movie coming out, “The Rite.” This is one impressive Catholic blogger and speaker. If you’re wavering in your faith or you can appreciate a good testimony, he has some videos posted here.

*6*

Last week I said I wanted to see a concert soon and tomorrow I make that dream come true! If anyone is in RVA, Carbon Leaf is playing at the National. Those of you who are not Richmonders, check them out. They are irishy, rocky, and folky.


*7*

We are quickly approaching the darkest day of the year. This means we’re quickly approaching the time of the year when the days get longer and longer. One cannot notice the light without the darkness. I’ll expand on that next week, but here’s a preview: “Thanks to the human heart by which we live,/Thanks to its tenderness, its joys, and fears,/To me the meanest flower that blows can give/Thoughts that do often lie too deep for tears.”







